BookPage Reviews

BookPage is available every month at the library. Did you know you can sign up for their newsletters that keep you up to date on your favorite genres? Sign up for recommendations in your favorite genres at bookpage.com/newsletters.

If you’re the type of reader who self-soothes by losing yourself in a book, French author Cathy Bonidan’s novel is just what the doctor ordered.

The Lost Manuscript is a charming epistolary novel about the love of books and magical ability they have to bring people together.

Sometimes a book has the power to change your life… Review

Janet Skeskien Charles reminds us of Paris’ evergreen appeal and unbounded potential for stories.

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife. Review

Like a wise and imaginative teacher, Kristin Hannah imbues past events with relevance and significance in her novel.

From the number-one bestselling author of The Nightingale and The Great Alone comes a powerful American epic about love and heroism and hope, set during the Great Depression, a time when the country was in crisis and at war with itself, when millions were out of work and even the land seemed to have turned against them. Review

Julia Claiborne Johnson paints a vivid picture of a hot Reno summer during which women wait to see whether their luck has run out or is just beginning.

The eagerly anticipated second novel from the bestselling author of Be Frank with Me, a charming story of endings, new beginnings, and the complexities and complications of friendship and love, set in late 1930s Reno. Review

In perfectly Austenesque style, Molly Greeley imagines a backstory of the Pride & Prejudice character Anne de Bourgh, and it’s a perfectly joyful read.

In this gorgeously written and spellbinding historical novel based on Pride and Prejudice, the author of The Clergyman’s Wife combines the knowing eye of Jane Austen with the eroticism and Gothic intrigue of Sarah Waters to reimagine the life of the mysterious Anne de Bourgh. Review

Timelines collide and secrets are revealed in gasp-inducing fashion in this Clue meets Agatha Christie page turner from the bestselling author, Emma Rous.

The USA Today bestselling author of The Au Pair returns with another delicious, twisty novel—about a grand estate with many secrets, an orphan caught in a web of lies, and a young woman playing a sinister game. Review

A parade of suspects, all with plausible alibis and motives, will keep readers guessing as the book builds toward its disturbing, nay horrific, conclusion.

Debut author Darby Kane thrills with this twisty domestic suspense novel that asks one central question: shouldn’t a dead husband stay dead? Review

Before She Disappeared is billed as a standalone, but it would be the perfect setup for a terrific series.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner, a propulsive thriller featuring an ordinary woman who will stop at nothing to find the missing people that the rest of the world has forgotten. Review

Someone is doing his (or her) level best to stay one step ahead of this latest investigation, and in this case, “level best” makes for a scorching good read.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Psychologist Alex Delaware and detective Milo Sturgis search for answers to a brutal, decades-old crime in this electrifying psychological thriller from the master of suspense. Review

Unfolding at a slow and steady pace, Stephen Graham Jones’ horror novel toys with impending doom, then slaps you in the face with violence.

The novel is about revenge, cultural identity, and the cost of breaking from tradition.

Review

Brandon Hobson weaves past and present so skillfully that events that would be improbable in the hands of another author are inevitable in The Removed.

Steeped in Cherokee myths and history, a novel about a fractured family reckoning with the tragic death of their son long ago—from National Book Award finalist Brandon Hobson. Review

Gretchen McCulloch is a linguistics whiz who writes clearly and comprehensively for the lay reader about her area of expertise.

Because Internet is for anyone who’s ever puzzled over how to punctuate a text message or wondered where memes come from. It’s the perfect book for understanding how the internet is changing the English language, why that’s a good thing, and what our online interactions reveal about who we are. Review

Kill Reply All is Victoria Turk’s clever and informative guide to online etiquette – from work to romance, friendship, and community.

Want to Marie Kondo your digital life and develop a more tactful approach to technology? By a leading tech and digital culture journalist, Kill Reply All is a guide to tidying it all up.  Review